

2014 PHMSA Pipeline Safety Management Systems (SMS) Workshop

February 27, 2014 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. The Westin Arlington Gateway 801 North Glebe Road Arlington, VA 22203 Tel: 703-717-6200

WORKSHOP AGENDA

Check-in/Registration: 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.

Opening Remarks 8:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m. <u>30 minutes</u>	Host: Jeff Wiese (DOT/PHMSA) RP 1173 Committee Chair: Ron McClain (Kinder-Morgan)
Keynote Speaker 8:30 a.m. – 9:15 a.m. <u>45 minutes</u> 30 minutes for speaker 15 minutes for Q&A	 RADM James Watson (President/COO of American Bureau of Shipping) RADM for USCG Prevention Policy (ret.) /OSC at DW Horizon Director, Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (ret.)
Role of SMS – Insight from the Chemical Industry 9:15 a.m. – 10:00 am <u>45 minutes</u> 30 minutes for speaker 15 minutes for Q&A	Speaker: Debra Phillips (ACC Responsible Care / Chemical) Hosts and Moderators: Brianne Metzger-Dorian and Mark Hereth
10:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.	Break
Role of SMS – Insight from the Aviation Industry 10:30 a.m. – 11:30 am <u>60 minutes</u> 20 minutes for each speaker 20 minutes for Q&A	Speaker: Don Arendt (Federal Aviation Administration) Armando Martinez (Miami Air) Hosts and Moderators: Brianne Metzger-Dorian and Mark Hereth
11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.	Lunch

Role of Leadership and	Speaker:
Management 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.	Nick Stavropoulos – PG&E (Natural Gas)
60 minutes 30 minutes for speaker 30 minutes for Q&A	Hosts and Moderators: Tracey Scott and Stacey Gerard
Roles of Safety Assurance	Speakers:
2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.	Bill Mooney - Dupont (Chemical)
60 minutes 20 minutes for each speaker	George Mortensen – INP0 (Nuclear)
20 minutes for Q&A	Hosts and Moderators: Bill Moody and Linda Daugherty
3:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.	Break
Role of Safety Culture	Speakers:
3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.	Tim Vogus – (Health Care - Owen School / Vanderbilt University)
60 minutes	
60 minutes 20 minutes for each speaker 20 minutes for Q&A	Patrick Smyth – Canadian National Energy Board
20 minutes for each speaker	Patrick Smyth – Canadian National Energy Board Hosts and Moderators: Nick Stavropoulos and Massoud Tahamtani
20 minutes for each speaker	
20 minutes for each speaker 20 minutes for Q&A Closing and Next Steps	Hosts and Moderators: Nick Stavropoulos and Massoud Tahamtani
20 minutes for each speaker 20 minutes for Q&A Closing and Next Steps 4:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Hosts and Moderators: Nick Stavropoulos and Massoud Tahamtani