Gas Pipeline Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes

July 22, 2020

Mr. John Gale, Director of Standards and Rulemaking, Office of Pipeline Safety, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA), U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) started the Gas Pipeline Advisory Committee (GPAC) meeting on July 22, 2020, at 10:36 am ET by introducing the GPAC's designated federal officer (DFO), Mr. Alan Mayberry, Associate Administrator for the Office of Pipeline Safety, PHMSA, USDOT.

The meeting was held virtually and was open to the public, with some agency attendees participating from USDOT Headquarters at 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Washington, D.C.

I. DFO Opening Remarks

The DFO opened the meeting at 10:36 am ET by introducing the GPAC Chairman, Mr. David Danner. The DFO discussed administrative issues, described his role as presiding official of the meeting, provided audience participation instructions, and introduced the following individuals:

Howard "Skip" Elliott, PHMSA Administrator and Acting DOT Inspector General;

Drue Pearce, PHMSA Deputy Administrator;

Ben Kochman, PHMSA Director of Governmental, International and Public Affairs; and

Paul Roberti, PHMSA Chief Counsel.

II. Call to Order

Chairman David Danner called to order the meeting of the GPAC on July 22, 2020.

III. Attendees

A list of the individuals who were present at the meeting, including advisory committee members and staff, agency employees, and members of the public who presented oral statements, is provided below.

A roll call of the advisory committee members was conducted by Cameron Satterthwaite, PHMSA. A quorum was present.

The following committee members were in attendance:

Mr. W. Jonathan Airey, Retired Partner of Vorys, Sater, Seymour, and Pease, LLP

Mr. Ronald A. Bradley, Vice President, Gas of PECO

Ms. Diane Burman, Commissioner of the New York State Public Service Commission

Mr. Peter A. Chace, Gas Pipeline Safety Program Manager of Public Utilities Commission of Ohio

Mr. David W. Danner (Chair), Chair, Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission

Mr. J. Andrew Drake, Vice President, Asset Integrity and Technical Services of Enbridge Gas Transmission and Midstream

Ms. Sara Rollet Gosman, Assistant Professor, University of Arkansas School of Law

Mr. Robert W. Hill, County Development Director and Emergency Manager of Brookings County Zoning & Drainage, South Dakota

Dr. Sara W. Longan, Deputy Commissioner of the Office of the Commissioner for Anchorage, Alaska

Ms. Mary Palkovich, Vice President, Gas Engineering & Supply of Consumers Energy

Mr. Richard H. Worsinger, Director of Wilson Energy for City of Wilson, North Carolina

Mr. Chad J. Zamarin, Senior Vice President of Corporate Strategic Development of the Williams Companies, Inc.

The following PHMSA staff attended the meeting from the DOT Headquarters: Drue Pearce, Alan Mayberry, John Gale, Cameron Satterthwaite, Robert Jagger, and Sayler Palabrica. Steve Nanney attended the meeting from Houston, Texas.

The following public attendees provided oral statements at the meeting: Royce Brown, Enable Midstream; Patrick Carey, Kinder Morgan; David Chittick, TC Energy; Keith Coyle, GPA Midstream; Adele Dibiasio, National Grid; Kevin House, National Fuel Gas Company; Michael Hunter, NiSource; Rick Kivela, Enbridge; Matthew Nicholson,

TC Energy; C.J. Osman, INGAA; Bill Parry, Southwest Gas Corporation; Theresa Pugh, American Forest & Paper Association; Darral Ward, Boardwalk Pipeline; and Charles Yarbrough, Atmos Pipeline.

IV. Opening Remarks

The DFO introduced PHMSA's Administrator, Howard "Skip" Elliott, who provided opening remarks. Afterward, the DFO recognized the PHMSA staff and the GPAC members, addressed the diverse backgrounds of the committee membership, and highlighted the important work expected to be carried out at the meeting.

V. Agenda Adoption

Chairman Danner and the DFO reviewed the single topic valve proposed rule (Valve Installation and Minimum Rupture Detection Standards NPRM) on the meeting agenda. Chairman Danner asked PHMSA Project Manager, Steve Nanney, to give a slide presentation on the proposed rule.

VI. Committee Discussion and Voting

Mr. Nanney reviewed slides of the proposed rule, item by item. Mr. Nanney's slides addressed the following topics: Scope, Applicability, and Preliminary Regulatory Impact Assessment (PRIA) and Cost Estimate; Rupture Definition; Rupture Identification Timeframe; Rupture Valve Closure Timeframe; Rupture Mitigation Valves; Valve Spacing; Valve Location; Valve Status Monitoring; Class Location Changes; Maintenance; Failure Investigations; and Communications with 9-1-1. Mr. Nanney's slides are publicly available at the meeting webpage (https://primis.phmsa.dot.gov/meetings/MtgHome.mtg?mtg=149) and at http://www.regulation.gov.

After each item, Chairman Danner opened the meeting for public comment, followed by committee and PHMSA staff discussion. After each discussion, Chairman Danner asked for the committee to vote on the item from the proposed rule.

The committee voted and approved the proposed rule as published in the Federal Register and the Draft Regulatory Evaluation for the following items: Rupture Mitigation; Rupture Mitigation Valves; Valve Spacing, Valve Location, Valve Status Monitoring; Class Location Changes; Maintenance Requirements and Failure Investigation; and Communications with 9-1-1. The committee found the proposals to be technically feasible, reasonable, cost-effective, and practicable, if certain changes were made. The complete list of changes recommended by the committee to each item of the proposed rule are listed in the committee's voting slides, which are available at

the meeting's webpage and at regulations.gov. The motions for each item passed unanimously.

Chairman Danner had to temporarily exit the meeting at one point, and therefore, the DFO chaired the meeting during voting on the following topics: rupture mitigation valves, valve spacing, location, and status monitoring.

After voting was complete, the committee made a motion stating, "The transcript of this meeting (duly recorded and accurately transcribed), together with the presentation slides documenting the committee's votes during this meeting, represent the report of this proceeding." The committee approved the motion unanimously.

VII. Adjournment

Chairman David Danner adjourned the meeting for the day at 5:52 pm ET.

SandWalana

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

David W. Danner

Chair