Pipeline Class Location Methodology Workshop

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Commonwealth Ballroom at the Crystal City Hilton, Arlington, VA

9:00AM Good Morning/Welcome/Event Introduction

Event Moderator: Alan Mayberry, Deputy Associate Administrator for Policy & Programs, DOT/PHMSA

9:10 AM Panel #1 - PHMSA-NEB - Class Location vs. HCA Requirements

Moderator: Alan Mayberry, Deputy Associate Administrator for Policy & Programs, DOT/PHMSA

Panelist #1: Mike Israni, Senior Technical Advisor, DOT/PHMSA

Panelist #2: Steve Nanney, Project Manager, DOT/PHMSA

Panelist #3: Iain Colquhoun, Chief Engineer, National Energy Board of Canada

10:20 AM BREAK

10:40 AM Panel #2 - NAPSR Perspective on Class Location vs. HCA Requirements

Moderator: Alan Mayberry, Deputy Associate Administrator for Policy & Programs, DOT/PHMSA

Panelist #1: Steve Pott, Chief, Gas Pipeline Safety, Colorado Public Utilities Commission

Panelist #2: Don Stursma, Manager, Safety and Engineering Section, IOWA Utilities Board

11:30AM Q&As with Morning Presenters

12:00 PM LUNCH - On your own

1:30 PM Panel #3 - Pipeline Operator Presentations

Moderator: Steve Pott, Chief, Gas Pipeline Safety, Colorado Public Utilities Commission

Panelist #1: Dwayne Burton, Kinder Morgan – Chairman of INGAA Pipeline Safety Committee

Panelist #2: Jerome Themig, Supervising Engineer, Ameren, IL (AGA)

Panelist #3: David Hraha, Program Director, Iowa Association of Municipal Utilities (APGA)

Panelist #4: Alice Ratcliffe, XTO Energy - Chair, GPA Pipeline Safety Committee

2:50 PM Panel #4 – Public Perspective

Moderator: Steve Pott, Chief, Gas Pipeline Safety, Colorado Public Utilities Commission

Panelist#1: Carl Weimer, Executive Director, Pipeline Safety Trust

Panelist#2: Richard Kuprewicz, President, Accufacts, Inc.

3:30 PM BREAK

3:50 PM Q&As with Afternoon Presenters

4:15 PM Summary and Adjournment

Event Moderator: Alan Mayberry, Deputy Associate Administrator for Policy & Programs, DOT/PHMSA

This event was sponsored by the

Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration and the National Association of Pipeline Safety Representatives